9 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

FIH News
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
« PrevBack to Article ListNext »
FIH Player of the Year Nominations Announced (10/17/2008)
--Press Release

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) released the nominated players for the 2008 Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year. All athletes that participated at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games were able to vote for their favorite.

Out of the numerous votes received, the FIH established a short list. The winner of the Player of the Year Awards will come out of this selection. The winners will be announced during a special awarding ceremony, which will take place during the FIH Congress Dinner in Los Angeles, USA on Friday 29 November 2008.

Last year, Luciana Aymar (NED) won the Women’s Player of the Year Award for the fourth time in her career. Australian Jamie Dwyer was crowned Men’s Player of the Year in 2007.

The nominees are:

Women’s Player of the Year 2008
Naomi van As (NED)
Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Minke Booij (NED)
Baorong Fu (CHN)
Natascha Keller (GER)
Carla Rebecci (ARG)
Fanny Rinne (GER)
Janneke Schopman (NED)

Men’s Player of the Year 2008
Pol Amat (ESP)
Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
Bevan George (AUS)
Robert van der Horst (NED)
Barry Middleton (GBR)
Teun de Nooijer (NED)
Tibor Weissenborn (GER)
Timo Wess (GER)

Women’s Young Player of the Year 2008 – born in 1985 or later
Christa Cullen (ENG)
Ellen Hoog (NED)
Jana Muller-Wieland (GER)
Maartje Paumen (NED)
Qingling Song (CHN)

Men’s Young Player of the Year 2008 – born in 1985 or later
Desmond Abbott (AUS)
Simon Child (NZL)
Jeroen Hertzberger (NED)
Ashley Jackson (GBR)
Eddie Ockenden (AUS)

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message