9 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

2015 HWL R4 Raipur
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
HWL 2015: Team India encrypts a small history amid (12/6/2015)
--s2h Team
HWL 2015: Team India encrypts small history amidst goal rain at Raipur

When India clinched the bronze beating the World No.2 team The Netherlands in the Hockey World League today, it marked a milestone: of not winning any medal in the top three FIH tournaments: Olympics, World Cup and Champions Trophy.

undefined Despite playing numerous semifinals and bronze medals matches, India was always at the receiving end for almost three decades after its Champions Trophy victory in 1982.

The team then was led by Surjit Singh

Its long 33 year wait for India, the way it achieved the feat will be remembered for long time to come.

India started on a passive note, conceded early goals. It appeared 2-0 lead that the young Dutch built was, indicator of routine things to transpire subsequently.

undefined However, a clever move by the fox-like coach Roelant Oltmans changed the course.

Captain Sardar Singh, in a new role as centre-forward, took the start off bully and then the dice rolled in India’s favour.

Ramandeep Singh started the goal spree off Sunil and Sardar effort.

Rupinder Pal struck a great penalty corner to bring parity.

India started the HWL campaign sluggishly, losing badly to Argentina, and then holding Germany before losing heavily to the same Dutch.

India turned in a great show in the quarters, beating till then roaring Great Britain which overcame Australia in the league 2-5.

Semifinal on Saturday was a huge disappointment for the huge Indian crowd. India hardly showed intention to strike and go up, and when it did in the last quarters, it was too late to bridge the gap.

India today came out strongly from second quarters. Bringing Sardar Singh as striker turned out to be the game changer.

The match witnessed seven goals in the last quarter, each team scoring at will.

When India took the 5-3 lead in the 56th minutes, it was expected it will be done thing for India, but it was not to be. Weerden, who had already stuck once, now posted a brace.

The last goal coming through a PC earned just five secs left for the hooter.

In the shoot outs, it was Billy Bakker and Seve Van Ass who scored for Netherlands whereas, Birendra Lakra, Sardar and Rupinder Pal Singh added to India's shoot out goals. The last shoot out by Manpreet was missed but resulted in a Penalty Corner which was very well converted by Rupinder Pal Singh.

Manpreet Singh was declared Man of the Match.

The other individual Tournament Awards were as follows,

NTPC Fans Choice: P. R. Sreejesh (IND)
Hero Best Player: Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
SECL Best Goalkeeper: Jaap Stockmann (NED)
NMDC Best Junior: Arthur van Doren (BEL)
Hero Top Scorer: Gonzalo Peillat (ARG), 8 goals

Final Classification in HWL Season 2 2015

1: Australia
2: Belgium
3: India
4: Netherlands
5: Argentina
6: Great Britain
7: Germany
8: Canada

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message