10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

2008 Azlan Shah Cup
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
« PrevBack to Article ListNext »
Statistical Highlight of India at Azlan (5/6/2008)
India first participated in the Azlan Shah in inagural year 1983 and won the bronze

Of the 16 times the competiton had been held so far, India missed only five times.

Out of 11 participation, India won the title thrice (1985, 1991 and 1995).

India's victorious captains are Md. Shahid and Pargat Singh (1991 and 1995).

India's golden coaches are Harmik Singh (1985), Balkrishen Singh (1991) and V. Baskaran (1995).

It won the bronze four times, the last one coming last year.

In the first 10 or 12 years, India sent senior teams, but mixed ones subsequently -- and obviously got mixed results also.

Only once did India finish at the bottom of the ranking, seventh. It was in 2004 and the dubious distinction of leading the team went to injured Dhanraj Pillay.

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message