10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

Domestic Hockey
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
Indian Railways win Murugappa Gold Cup 2016 (9/12/2016)
--s2h team
Indian Railways stage stunning comeback to win Murugappa Gold Cup 2016

VR Raghunath scored the opener for IOC in the 12th minute
Railways’ equaliser was scored by Malak Singh in the 42nd minute
JP Kush scored the winning goal for Railways in the 60th minute

Chennai, 11 September 2016: Indian Railways edged out Indian Oil Corporation 2-1 in a hard fought final match of the 90th Murugappa Gold Cup in Chennai today.

IOC opened the scoring via a PC conversion by Olympian and Arjuna Award winner VR Raghunath in the 12th minute. It took till the 42nd minute of the match for Railways to find an equaliser and it came via the stick of Malak Singh. In the 60th minute of the match, with the game tensely poised, JP Kush found the board to give Railways the lead, one they held on strongly, breaking IOC’s three-year hold on the trophy.

Malak Singh was named the Man of the Match. Other individual awards were also given to various top performers across the tournament. Indian Railways swept those too with Affan Yousuf (Best Forward), Amit Rohidas (Best Defender) and Jugraj Singh (Best Goalkeeper) winning individual tournament awards. Joshua Bendici Wesley of the Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu was named the Most Promising Player of the Tournament.

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message