10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

2009 Asia Cup Men
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
--K. Arumugam
Know Your Asia Cup

Asia Cup was mooted by Pakistan; the Cup presented by India.

Asia Cup was first played in 1982 at Karachi, Pakistan.

Pakistan won the inaugural edition, played on round robin format.

China finished third above Japan and Malaysia, till then better ranked teams in Asia compared to China.

Pakistan is the only country to win the Asia Cup on the home soils.

Kuala Lumpur was the lone city to host the Asia Cup twice, that too in succession (1999 & 2003).

The 1999 Asia Cup was originally allotted to Pakistan, but had to be shifted because of border tension between India and Pakistan.

Bangladesh, China and India hosted the Cup once

Malaysia is the only nation to host the Cup thrice including 2009.

Koreans were snapped of their Golden hat-trick when India defeated them in the final of the 2003 edition. It was India’s first Gold.

Like Korea in 2003, the Indians are waiting for their turn of Golden Hat-trick now after tasting top honour in 2003 and 2007.

India devoted its first Asia Cup gold to Jugraj Singh, who could not take up the tournament due to an ugly car accident.

Kuantan is the first time the Asia Cup is held after two years. Since then it was held every four years.

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message
by BHAVESH GAUTAM on 5/9/2009 10:02:04 AM
hope india gets it hatrick.03,07 and 09..... lets al pray 4 them..